Libertarian Democrats

Kos gets it – and understands how the wingnut overreach with the Republican’t dominated government turns people off.

It was my fealty to the notion of personal liberty that made me a Republican when I came of age in the 1980s. It is my continued fealty to personal liberty that makes me a Democrat today.

The case against the libertarian Republican is so easy to make that I almost feel compelled to stipulate it and move on. It is the case for the libertarian Democrat that has created much discussion and not a small amount of controversy when I first introduced the notion in what was, in reality, a throwaway blog post on Daily Kos on a slow news day in early June 2006.

2 thoughts on “Libertarian Democrats

  1. Indeed. The GOP loving older libertarians are probably still coasting on the intertia of their Reagan love, for what it’s worth anymore (not much according to Bush administration spendathon).

Leave a comment