Whence come the horsemen?

Once in a while you stumble across a headline that’s so OMFH jawdropping you just don’t know what to think.  My friend Michael Stickings even has a category for certain social indicators he refers to as “Signs of the Apocalypse.” I think he’s approaching number sixty.

Far be it that I should infringe upon his gig, but today I saw a headline that hits me that way.

Consider the following from MinnPost:

UnitedHealth to sell insurance policies that insure individuals against becoming uninsurable

This links to the following at The New York Times:

UnitedHealth to Insure the Right to Insurance

I’ll be damned, but I was SURE The Onion wasn’t on my RSS feed.

Mind you, I don’t fault United Health here – they have evaluated the current market conditions and found a niche they think they can make a buck in.  Fine, that’s what successful business do.  But the fact there’s a niche here to begin with, the fact that there is sufficient fear and uncertainty to make this a viable product speaks volumes of the need for health care reform in the US.

Obama/Daschle?  Are you paying attention?

Leave a Reply

